Tempeh and Mushroom Stroganoff

One of the dishes my mom used to make us when we were little was beef stroganoff. It had that creamy, meaty flavor and I’d pile it high with sour cream and chives. Yum! Well, the years passed and I became vegetarian. My mom made me a vegetarian stroganoff with meat replacements a couple times and it was good…but I haven’t had it in YEARS! Now that I have my own family, I decided it was high time to make up a batch, especially with all this cold rainy weather we have been having. I am always looking for new recipes to try or to adapt to our (my) preferences. My daughter told me the other day that she had turkey stroganoff at preschool and she liked it. This gave me the idea to make it for my family ASAP. My daughter eats chicken and turkey and my hubby eats pretty much anything but pork. Since our DD only eats C & T (chicken and turkey), those are the main meats he eats as well. I don’t mind cooking C & T up for them (even if I don’t eat it) because they both love it and I’m not going to force them to not eat meat. They eat my vegan and vegetarian creations as well, so its a win win. However, sometimes when I am cooking 2 similar but separate dishes, I can’t help but think how much easier it would be to just cook ONE…all the time! But it is what it is, and it works for us. This blog will be especially helpful to you if you also have a SO or child that eats meat, or if you are the only one in your family trying to eat more vegan/vegetarian. I will also post the meat recipe for those of you needing to make both dishes.

Anyway, I am a big fan of fermented tempeh because it is versatile and contains so much protein. I try to use it in recipes when I can. I agree that some faux-meat crumblies with all the vegan substitutes would have made for a creamier dish that more resembled the stroganoff that my daughter and hubby were eating. However, I know that the processed meat alternatives aren’t always the best option, so I made that tempeh as tasty as possible. I actually had trouble getting the original recipe to work for me, so I tweaked and adapted it to be more of what I was looking for in a stoganoff.

I hope you enjoy this dish and let me know if you have any comments below!

-Miss Maully

Tempeh and Mushroom Stroganoff

~About 2 large or 3 small servings with pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1 package (8 ounces or 227 g) tempeh
  • 2 1/2 cups mushrooms, chopped small
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 ½ cups water
  • 1 teaspoon Vegetable Bouillon
  • ½ teaspoon paprika
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 2/3 cup unsweetened coconut milk yogurt
  • pinch dill
  • fresh parsley, for garnish
  • chopped green onion, for garnish
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • cooked pasta, for serving
  • garlic bread, optional

Directions:

  1. Chop tempeh and mushrooms.
  2. Steam tempeh for about 10 minutes.
  3. Add tempeh, mushrooms, garlic, water, bouillon, and paprika.
  4. Cook on low 6 hours.
  5. Heat skillet on medium heat.
  6. Remove about 1/3 cup broth from slow cooker, whisk in flour, and set aside.
  7. Transfer contents of crock pot to skillet and stir in broth/flour mixture.
  8. Heat skillet to a low boil to thicken sauce. Stir frequently.
  9. When slightly thickened, add unsweetened coconut milk yogurt, starting with 1/3 cup.
  10. After cooking for a few minutes, add rest of unsweetened coconut milk yogurt.
  11. Continue to simmer until sauce has thickened to your liking.
  12. Add more paprika and salt and pepper if needed. Also, add dill.
  13. Serve over pasta and garnish with fresh parsley and green onion.
  14. Serve with garlic bread!

Adapted from http://www.healthyslowcooking.com 

I did adapt the Turkey Stroganoff as well. First, I left out the sour cream. Second, I used vegetable broth instead of beef. Here is the original recipe – https://www.melskitchencafe.com/delicious-ground-beef-or-turkey-stroganoff/ 

Leave a Reply

